Social, Environmental and Scientific Education (SESE) consists of three subjects: Science, Geography and History. SESE enables children to explore, investigate and develop an understanding of local and wider environments.

Science is for children from junior infants to sixth class. The curriculum supports children to develop basic scientific skills through a knowledge and understanding of science.

The curriculum is presented in two sections:

  • Skills

  • Content:

  • Living things

  • Energy and forces

  • Materials

  • Environmental awareness and care.

The current curriculum was introduced as part of the Primary School Curriculum (1999).